Yosepower 350w kit? Or alternatives (cheap)

Stephenmacleod

Pedelecer
Mar 4, 2019
Cumbria
Hi all.
So last year I was considering an e bike conversion on my old bike but with money tight at the time and bike prices through the roof i sold my bike. Have been toying with the idea of picking up a dirt cheap hybrid / xc bike such as a carrera subway or specialized rockhopper, something along those lines.

Now for kits, I've been told mid drive may not be as reliable as a front or rear hub conversion (how true I dont know, I'm still fairly new to this) however, upon reading a few reviews of the yosepower 350w kit apparantly battery included these come in at around 370, with a budget of around 80 on a used bike (Facebook marketplace has plenty at that price range, especially the carrera subway some as cheap as £40!)

Now I'm just wondering if the yosepower 350w kit is any good. I'm 5'10 and 114kg. So looking for something to help lose a lot of weight ideally. Would like to use it for work on mainly hills and b roads around 15 miles per day, so anything around the 35 mile range would be more than adequate.

I'm trying to keep costs down as once fitter I would upgrade the full bike, I'm confident I could make my initial investment back (or close to it) upon resale and upgrade so the question is, with my requirements mentioned, what would be the best kit at this sort of price range (definitely sub 450 pounds) 26" wheel by the way.
Thanks in advance,

Ste

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
It's not bad for a first kit. A rear motor is always better than a front, especially if the donor bike has suspension forks.You need a cassette motor for 8 speed gears or more and a freewheel one for 7 or less.

Stephenmacleod

Pedelecer
Mar 4, 2019
Cumbria
It's not bad for a first kit. A rear motor is always better than a front, especially if the donor bike has suspension forks.You need a cassette motor for 8 speed gears or more and a freewheel one for 7 or less.
Thanks