Conversion kit build for Brompton

omarshaffi

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jun 16, 2020
Hi All,

Fairly new to ebikes...I’ve been tinkering with Californian Go Peds for the last 15 years but as much as I love them clearly petrol engines are always met with frowns and crossed police officers!

I have my Brompton and want to go down the route of building my own kit not use Nano or Swytch etc.

I’ve tried to read up as much as I can on this site with respect to Brompton builds and have seen some threads about the Q70 motor. Is this still an ideal motor to opt for? Looking at BMS site I can see a Q75 and Q85 as well. Are these newer models?

They have an option to purchase a built wheel with a Q85 motor would the 16” fit onto Brompton forks or would they need to be widened as not sure how to check without physically having it.

Any and all help welcome.

Thank you everyone

omarshaffi

Jun 16, 2020
Ah thanks that’s useful. I like their kit it looks neater than having a bag and close to Dereks build where he used a Bosch battery.

So with the Q70 the forks don’t need widening? Can anyone recommend which pedal sensor to use as BMS haven’t replied despite messaging twice

Attachments

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Any pedal sensor will work if fitted correctly.

omarshaffi

Jun 16, 2020
Thank you. When referring to poles on a pedal sensor is that to do with magnets and the more poles there are the greater the sensitivity

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
QUOTE="omarshaffi, post: 564949, member: 30536"] Thank you. When referring to poles on a pedal sensor is that to do with magnets and the more poles there are the greater the sensitivity [/QUOTE]

Generally yes but tbh whether 8 ,10 or 12 you won't feel much between them.

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon