Difference between delimited 250w motor VS 500w motor

nabs

Pedelecer
May 27, 2019
Lets say you get a bike with a 250w motor limited to 15mph and tune it deristrict the speed it can go, so it can go till 25mph. And there is another bike with a 500w motor that can go approximately the same speed when unrestricted, 25mph.

Is this roughly the samething? I seem to remember being told something to this effect. Do they have roughtly the same power and omph? I seem to believe the controller is responsible for the wattage of motor? Or something like that.

Thinking of getting a Haibike Sduro hardnose 7.0 and delimit it, or a 500w motor bike off Amazon.

PeterPi

Pedelecer
Oct 1, 2019
I'm no expert and use the forum for information, but if you don't have a motor rated at 250 Watt with the rating stamped on it, I understand it's not road legal.

• Agree
Reactions: ebiker99 and Woosh

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
a 250w ebike motor can put out way more power than 250w under the 15mph limit why you can climb hills so easy so using more around 7-800w from the motor.

if you use a dongle to remove the speed limit it gives you no extra power at all and just removes the speed limit.

in full power assist mode this will half the range of the batt but you can use a lower power assist mode to get some range back.

Reactions: DroidOne
D

Deleted member 25121

You might not get 25mph out of a derestricted 250W bike.

You'd be unable to insure both the derestricted 250W bike and the 500W bike.

• Agree
Reactions: flecc

nabs

Pedelecer
May 27, 2019
a 250w ebike motor can put out way more power than 250w under the 15mph limit why you can climb hills so easy so using more around 7-800w from the motor.

if you use a dongle to remove the speed limit it gives you no extra power at all and just removes the speed limit.

in full power assist mode this will half the range of the batt but you can use a lower power assist mode to get some range back.