Help! E-bike newbie with e-trike conversion project.

stueeee

Just Joined
Oct 28, 2021
Hi to all, need to apologise first for being a newbie with a very wordy first post on here, but this does look like a good place to get right answers.

My partner needs a trike rather than a bike. After a very disappointing experience with a newly manufactured E-Trike a year or so ago (the manufacturer eventually took it back after numerous quality/function issues) my partner has purchased for fairly minimal money, an old Pashley made trike with the intention that I convert it to an E-trike for her. The Pashley needs some remedial work to make it safe/rideable in its current form; I am a retired engineer with a reasonably well equipped workshop, so doing that stuff shouldn't be an issue for me.

However, beyond assembling the previous new flat pack E-trike, I don't have any experience of installing a complete electric control and power train on pedal powered stuff. At first, I was thinking of buying a powered front wheel kit for the trike, but for a number of reasons, not least there being no triangulation of the trike's headstock, I'd rather power the rear axle; there's a fair bit of space below the big metal rack on the back for both a motor and battery(s), so I thought of fitting something like this....

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/392835269141?hash=item5b76ce8215:g:0PYAAOSw7O9e4zLW

Obviously I'll need to fabricate new motor mounting brackets, machine up suitable hubs for a rear disc brake and probably an axle drive sprocket. The price of these E-bike setups I linked above does look rather low by comparison with a lot of other kits on the market, I wondered whether anyone here has any experience of these or something similar in form factor that would do the job satisfactorily. Some detail of the space in the rear axle area in the photo below. IMG_3993.JPG

Thanks for looking, Stuart.

Reactions: guerney

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH