Hello, first post , Cargo Bike retro fit advice and disscussion

Simon.j.crossley

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 5, 2020
Hi, Il introduce myself and my project,

I’m Simon long term cyclist, mountain biker, commuter and sort term father (I’m still learning) looking to convert a slightly odd ball Cargo bike to electric to aid the transport of my two children and stop my wife wanting a second car.

Link to pictures of the bike: LINK

As you will quickly notice unlikely to work standard electric hub due to single arm fork / frame. Mid drive is a possibility but not practical as the bike currently has idlers under the box that are not the best and wouldn’t take the stress of a motor as well as human power.

My plan: feel free to shoot it down or make suggestions, I have an idea how this will come together but not fully set on the plan.

1.Mount a lay shaft at the front of the box 17mm on pillow bearing
2.Add free wheel from the crank to the lay shaft
3.Hub motor mounted to the rear left (from above) sprocket attached to the disc mount to drive the lay shaft
4.Output from the lay shaft using adapter and screw on sprocket to rear geared hub
5.Rear Right mounted Nuvinci CVT hub input to the free hub output the rear wheel via disc mount sprocket to 20” rear wheel with free hub.

So where I need help is in the electrical side, which motor to go with to be robust and which controller to drive it.

Current thinking after lots of reading, I’m new to Ebikes in general and have only repaired and ridden them in the past.

Hub motor, restrictions must be less than 185mm outer diameter due to clearance, from a fabrication view front hub would be easier as its 25mm narrower. Must be disc mounted to get the output to the lay shaft.

This is currently where I stuck I need to pick a motor then work from there !