Lifecycle electric bikes- anyone have one??

jaycat

Pedelecer
Aug 19, 2010
Hi,

I'm still looking for my first bike, tried a few now, and keep coming back to the Lifecycle. The battery is 36v 17a which is the most powerful one I've come across. As you may remember I need to use throttle all the time.

My only concern is that I can't find any reviews online. So I was wondering if anyone here either has one, or has tried one, or even heard of them and their reputation? :eek:

They look great, powerful battery, but as a newbie, I just don't know. I'm calling in to the shop in Richmond tomorrow to check out the Kalkoffs, not sure what they're like throttle wise. :confused:

Anyway if anyone has a Lifecycle, please can you give me your opinion of it,

thanks,

Jackie. :)

Blew it

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2008
Swindon, Wiltshire
Jackie,

I have no experience of the Lifecycle E-bike, except it is very similar to the Oxygen Emate City.

If you are planning a visit to 50cycles in Richmond Park, they may have an Oxygen machine for you to try. The battery is a little smaller at 13ah than the Lifecycles 17ah.

The Oxygen Emate costs £1300 delivered, compared to the Lifecycle at £1500 plus delivery.

Both machines are of similar quality, and both are twist 'n' go, the only real choice is between price and battery size. The 13ah battery fitted to the Oxygen Emate will easily complete your 10 mile round trip on throttle only. If you could help the motor just a teeny-bit on the pedals, it might even make it over the railway bridge.

Regarding the Kalkhoff machines. They are pure pedelecs, no throttle is fitted to these machines, If you don't pedal, you don't get any assistance

Hope this helps
Regards
Bob

jaycat

Pedelecer
Aug 19, 2010
Thanks Bob, just off to have a look, didn't realize Kalkhoff had no throttle, so I'll try the oxygen. It's too painful to peddle I'm afraid. The Whisper is coming a very close 2nd at the mo.