Adjusted my brakes - now they are even worse! Help

oregon

Pedelecer
Aug 1, 2008
Palmers Green, London
Hi all

I have a Wisper 905 with Avid Single Digit 7 rear graphite brakes.

They needed adjusting, so I followed the instructions in this video on how to adjust them (as I have never done it before)

How to Adjust the Brakes on Your Bicycle: Bicycle Tips & Maintenance | eHow.com

But now, like what happens in the video, when I apply the brakes, only one side of the brake moves towards the wheel rim. The video says there is a small screw which you can adjust to fix this. But, I cannot find this screw on my brakes!

What should I do? Does anyone know how to fix this problem? These are my brakes: http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=22385

Many thanks for any advice

Fordulike

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 26, 2010
The screw is quite small and can be found on the pivot below the brake pad.
Turn clockwise to increase spring action of the brake arm and anti clockwise to decrease.
If you release the cable from the top of the assembly and try turning the screw in and out it, you will be able to feel how it affects the movement of the arm on the pivot.
Increasing the spring action (clockwise) will pull the arm more strongly away from the rim. Anti clockwise weakens the spring action.
It's a case of testing and adjusting both arms to find the right balance where both arms operate equally.
Note: adjust with brake cable attached. When i said release it is just for demonstration to show you how it all works.

John L

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 23, 2007
Hi all

I have a Wisper 905 with Avid Single Digit 7 rear graphite brakes.

They needed adjusting, so I followed the instructions in this video on how to adjust them (as I have never done it before)

How to Adjust the Brakes on Your Bicycle: Bicycle Tips & Maintenance | eHow.com