Advice required on first purchase please.

scobo

Pedelecer
Jun 6, 2008
Hi all.
I'm new to the world of electric bikes and knew next to nothing about them until I picked up some info from this and other sites.
I've seen a reasonably price bike (Sunlova SE-SE26SF02BL) and wondered if anyone who has one could let me know if they're any good.
My main concern is that it has a 24V 180W motor and wondered how well this would perform as most of the bikes I've looked at have 200W motors.

Last edited:

scobo

Pedelecer
Jun 6, 2008
Thanks for that Simon.
That bike does sound very similar to the one I'm looking at.
Any other advice on the performance I should expect from a 180w motor would be appreciated.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
The 180 and 200 figures are nominal for legal purposes, and the peak power outputs are often very much higher and can vary wildly. Therefore it's impossible to guess at that motor without either personal experience or technical data. The 180 watt originally arose from this being a classification for basic e-bikes in China, the 200 watt arose from UK law, the 250 watt from EU law. In fact the latter two are often the same motor but called whatever they should be for convenience. :rolleyes:

However, that motor is a modern Hall effect design, and a 180 watt Hall effect motor could well be a better performer than a 200 watt brush motor design, particularly on hill climbing. It isn't going to be a speed machine, but should be fine up to the legal limit of 15.5 mph and be capable of moderate hills up to about 10% with light assistance.

Just how it will be for you depends on two things, your own fitness and input and the steepness of the hills you need to climb. Very little power is needed on the flat, and around 100 to 150 watts will propel you on the flat in still air at about 15 mph without any problem or help from you.

scobo

Pedelecer
Jun 6, 2008
Ok, I've taken the plunge and ordered one.