Alien GS 2

Roadrunner

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 5, 2010
Hopefully I have put this in the correct place , as I explained in my first post I am new to forums so just shout if I don't follow the protocol!
Well the GS2 arrived this morning despite TNT's multiple attempts to avoid delivering it to me, what a fiasco, but nothing to do with Jim or Alien I hasten to add.
I read everthing on this forum regarding the Alien which was very helpful and I recommend anyone thinking of purchasing one to do the same, Although I am new to electric bkies and haven't cycled for 40 years I was attracted to the GS2 even before discovering this forum and following the old adage "if something looks right it usually is" I was already half sold on it anyway.
So it has turned out, and I set about unpacking and getting it built and checked over earlier today. Everthing was straightforward and I fitted the panniers which I also purchased from Alien and a Cateye Strada bicycle computer. Whilst doing this the battery was on charge.
The only faults I found were a few paint chips on the frame, two slightly loose spokes on the front wheel and a gash in the front rim (on the black part). Nothing to worry about and the first two faults were readily fixed
Just had a quick run (10miles on suburban roads averaging 15.8 mph with a max of 25). The lights, particularly the rear seemed effective with motorists giving me a wide berth when overtaking, unless it was because I was wobbling ... lol. Everthing worked well with no problems, although even at this early stage it is fairly obvious that the gearing is on the low side and as others have pointed out a higher top gear would be something worth considering, I think it could climb a wall in bottom!!.
That'll do for now, have just realised my legs feel a bit rubbery !

NRG

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 6, 2009
Nice one RR, look forward to reading futher reports, welcome to the world of E-biking!

NRG

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 6, 2009