Building an ebike for commute in Cornwall

niggle

Pedelecer
Feb 2, 2017
Cornwall, near England
I am completely new to ebikes so would appreciate advice on all aspects relating specifically to building up an ebike for my beloved to commute on, though I do have a fair bit of experience building, repairing and renovating non assisted bicycles, up to and including building wheels.

My beloved's commute is about 13.5 miles for the round trip and 1000ft of ascent (22km, 315m ascent) according to Bikehike. The steepest gradient in a couple of places is around 12% and there is a 1.5mile hill setting off from home of around 5-8% gradient.

Definitely this will be a step through frame, but I would appreciate advice on all the following:

I am thinking along the lines of a mid drive kit by Bafang: but what power output would be best for a non cycling fit lady in her fifties with a 'comfortable' build, but a stated desire to get some gentle exercise out of the riding. i am aware of the legal implications if using a motor with more than 250W rated output.

I am thinking of using a SRAM P5 internal gear hub with hub brake that I have already 'in stock' built into a wheel: is this adequate, e.g. what sort of bottom end gearing should I be looking at for getting up the 12% bits mostly on motor power? Also what gearing suits the motor best at max speed on the flat? Plus will it shift OK with power assist, i.e. when my OH stops pedaling and/or releases the throttle lever will the motor quickly stop putting in the power- the hub does not like shifting under load.

The next question is the battery capacity: what would be a pretty much guaranteed capacity to cope with the above round trip commute, with recharge at home possible nightly? Also can I set up a charger to use Economy 7 at night? Bike will be in an integral garage with easy access to mains socket.