Can I derestrict a Cyclotricity 250W kit? Recommendations for lightweight hybrid?

Simon Turner

Just Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Lewes, E.Sussex
Hello all.

I am brand new to the world of ebikes and am working up to my first purchase. I'm mainly after a bike to commute 5 miles to work, and a very small amount of offroad (short cut). The commute from village to town includes some light inclines/declines.

After trying a few ebikes I was thinking of buying an Oxygen eMate. Love the easy derestriction to 25mph, the light feel and the throttle on the left hand grip.

However, I don't like the weight of purpose made ebikes in general and am beginning to think that by adding a conversion to a lightweight hybrid I may be able to reduce the overall weight from 19/20kg to something like 14/15kg. So I've fallen across the Cyclotricity 250W kits. I've rung them up and they have told me it is not possible to derestrict their kits/bikes. Is this really true? If it is, can anyone recommend a 250W lightweight front wheel kit (preferably) with good quality water bottle battery that will get me to at least 25mph.... and ideally one that will allow me to fit the throttle to the left hand side of the handlebars.

If anyone has been working through the same requirements and come to a solution I'd love to hear it, even down to choice of light weight hybrid. I am quite price sensitive and would like to keep costs as low as I am able.

Thanks very much for any help.
BTW. I am aware of all the legalities with derestriction.

KirstinS

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2011
Brighton
A few trade offs here.

A 250w motor going at over 25mph must either be high rpm or over volted. Either way it won't have high climbing ability and fair chance of burning it out.

My 350w bpm2 hub 36v version has been run at 44v , 48 and 52v nominal. It can hit those speeds on higher voltages

But then it sure ain't lightweight.