Cargo Ebike Conversion for a Cycling Plumber

Aug 27, 2019
Hello my friends,

I'm a cycling plumber. I use a steel Dawes Horizon tourer with 4 panniers (and occasionally a bike trailer) to transport tools and materials to jobs around Bristol. I have an advertising board fitted to my frame (see picture). I weigh around 75 kilos, and my tools probably come approximately 40kg, sometimes more. Much of the weight is on my rear wheel. I rarely do more that 20 miles in a day, although it would be nice to be able to do longer leisure trips on a weekend.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I could best go about electrifying my bike?

My thoughts so far:

1) My rear wheel needs to be really strong. Does this rule out a rear hub motor?

2) I have a fancy Tubus rear pannier rack, since the one that came with the bike buckled under the weight of my tools! Consequently, I think it would be best to avoid adding the additional weight of a pannier mounted battery.

3) The advertising board is going to make it difficult to fit a frame mounted battery. Can anyone think of a way around this?

Thanks loads!

Benedict Sansam
Pedal Powered Plumbing

IMG_20190827_121746376.jpg

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
Hats off to you sir, you must have legs of iron.
I think with all that weight at the back (and given Bristol's hills) a front hub would give too much scrub. So it's mid drive or rear hub. I'm guessing that your chainset gets enough punishment as it is, so I'd say rear hub, for all round bullet proof reliability. I would buy one that has a double wall rim and use a beefy tyre like a schwalbe marathon +.
Unless you could get a triangle battery bag made that incorporated your advert, I don't see an alternative to a rack battery.
But the brakes with all that weight up - ye Gods do they stop you at all, or do you carry an anchor?
Wouldn't you be better off with a bike more suited to the weight carrying in the first place?

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014