Conversion kit for my Crescent

mt247

Pedelecer
Aug 12, 2020
Hello everyone, firstly i would like to introduce myself. My name is Mika im 28 from Finland,

I am new to electric bikes and looking to convert my bike to either a rear hub motor or a front hub motor. In Finland we have 1000W and 45 km/h(28mp/h) limits for ebikes so I'm looking 500W-1000W motor kit to achieve something like 40km/h (25 mp/h). Going to ride only on paved roads and my my budget is between 500-600€. Any recommendations on good kits, batteries and should I go for front or rear hub?

Bikes4two

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 21, 2020
Havant
For front vs rear hub, there's plenty of comment on the forum but start with this recent posting here.

The general view seems to be a rear hub is preferred unless you have a specific reason for a front hub and certainly with motors of the power you are looking at, the rear hub motor definitely gets more votes!

Reactions: mt247

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
There are a lot of different Crescent bikes and nearly all of them are unsuitable for a 500w or 1000w front motor. Maybe you could start by showing us what you have instead of leaving us to guess. Also, we need to know if it has free-wheel or free-hub gears, and how many.

mt247

Pedelecer
Aug 12, 2020
For front vs rear hub, there's plenty of comment on the forum but start with this recent posting here.

The general view seems to be a rear hub is preferred unless you have a specific reason for a front hub and certainly with motors of the power you are looking at, the rear hub motor definitely gets more votes!
Yes it seems like rear hub is the better option here.

Here are some pictures of my bike also.
IMG_20200808_154247.jpgIMG_20200808_154302.jpgIMG_20200808_154311.jpg

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon