Cycling in Paris

lemmy

Esteemed Pedelecer
I've just got back from three days cycling around Paris. I've been visiting and on occasions working there for many years but this time I fancied a visit on my own simply to explore. I took my Brompton rather than my Kalkhoff but cycling is cycling. I thought some forum members might find a few observations useful.

First, what a luxury it is to cycle without having to look out for potholes the whole time. The French have a policy of maintaining roads on a regular basis rather than reacting to reports of potholes and problems. Their road authorities maintain that this is much cheaper in the long run as well as contributing to a more efficient infrastructure.

The picture here shows my Brommie in one of the cycle lanes. The French have taken a different attitude to here and all over Paris are cycle lanes physically separated from the motor traffic. It is very effective in keeping cars from parking and blocking the lane. Cycles can also use the bus lanes, of course and these also are physically separated from the general carriageway.

Obviously there are streets where such physical separation is not possible but if you know Paris well, it should be possible to plan most journeys with the majority of the mileage safe from car drivers.