Dahon bike conversion

LukasVys

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 30, 2021
Hello everyone,

I have a Dahon folding bike which served me for more than 10 years. Due to my new job, I'm looking to see if I could convert it to E-bike. I have taken some pictures for you to see if It's possible to adapt any kit to it.

I'm not good with kits and etc, but got some DIY friend who will help me with that. It's a 16" wheels.

I have found a few kits on eBay, but they are for 20" so not sure 415974159841599

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
A rear motor would be better. How many gears do you have? Do you know if they're freewheel or freehub?

LukasVys

Mar 30, 2021
I got 7 gears.

I have tried to measure the tyre it comes nearly 16", but when I google for the same model it comes as 20" so not sure what I'm doing wrong.

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
Read the numbers on the tyre and post them here. they give the tyre and rim size, which are the important numbers - not the size in inches, but the metric numbers next to that.

D

Deleted member 33385

Where's this chap gone? It's great to see another Dahon on these forums! Sounds like he's after a hub drive. I wonder if his bottom bracket would be compatible with a Bafang mid-drive? Whatever he chooses, if he wants it to fold compact, that pannier will come in handy for the battery (like on mine):

I converted my Dahon by following this video (I didn't know this forum existed then):

...but his kit isn't UK road legal, and your bottom bracket may or may not be compatible.

Last edited:

LukasVys

Mar 30, 2021
Where's this chap gone? It's great to see another Dahon on these forums! Sounds like he's after a hub drive. I wonder if his bottom bracket would be compatible with a Bafang mid-drive? Whatever he chooses, if he wants it to fold compact, that pannier will come in handy for the battery (like on mine):

View attachment 41622