Gav from Shrewsbury needs help with new controller

Gavb

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 16, 2014
Hello everyone.
I am quite new to ebikes and am trying to pair a controller with my motor. I have tried combinations of hall and phase wires and hAve found a few combinations that work. I have now been told to measure the no load current of each combination and then choose the combination with the lowest current. I have a multimeter but have no idea how to measure no load current. Can anyone tell me which wires to connect to multimeter and then how to carry out this reading.
Many thanks for reading this post. I have tried asking controller supplier abd have searched online but cant find anything to help me.

D

Deleted member 4366

You have to use a shunt to measure the current. You can use a length of wire as a shunt because you're only interested in the minimum current, not the absolute value, however, if you use a bit of 14g wire exactly 100mm, the reading on your voltmeter in mV will be approximately the number of amps.

You don't need to make anything special. Stick one probe in your controller negative connector and the other one near the battery (at least 100mm away from it).

Here's a better description of the method. Have a look alsa at the link in it to my ES thread.
http://www.pedelecs.co.uk/forum/threads/current-measurement.16392/#post-201116

Gavb

Sep 16, 2014
Thank you for the information but I am really new to electrics. I have already bought a multimeter and was hoping I would be able to connect the prongs to some of the wires and get a reading. I'll have a good read of your information again later when i have more time.

Gavb

Sep 16, 2014
Apologies, I am still finding my way around how to use this site and I think I have started a conversation as well as replying here.