Gearing on Torqs

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
but they wanted a fortune for the only one with a choice of size - a Thorn Shimano Compatible: I am fairly sure. Asking £19-49; then there's the shipping making the total a king's ransom.

Peter
I couldn't help but smile, the one I'm looking at currently for a particular purpose is £79.75, but not ideal, so I might have to pay more. :)

coops

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 18, 2007
Manchester U.K.
Thank you very much for all that information Pete :).

Pete said:
I hope this is helpful and apologies if I have insulted your intelligence
It was very useful indeed - just the sort of facts & tips I need - I have little experience of this (it probably shows!) and I'm very grateful to benefit from yours.

I'll look into those suppliers you suggest & see what I can turn up -thanks.

I think I'm more of a spinner on a standard bike ~72 rpm (per leg), but can spin slower on an electric, I've found, when the effort required is less.

Gear range I'd like is ~45" or lower to ~112" top, but with high gears spaced appropriately for the delimited torq.

My BCD seems to be 130mm too (5-arm).

Interesting that you say your 76T setup required the same no. of links as the 77T original: I've not found much online to help work out how well a particular front/rear setup will fit a given chain length, so I'll just have to trust to luck I guess, but like yours, so long as I'm under 76/77T total I hope I can just shorten the existing chain if required :)

Thanks again,

Stuart.

ITSPETEINIT

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 11, 2006
Mere, Wilts
Tooth Difference

Thank you very much for all that information Pete :).

I think I'm more of a spinner on a standard bike ~72 rpm (per leg), but can spin slower on an electric, I've found, when the effort required is less.
That's good. I like to spin when the terrain is against one, like hills

Gear range I'd like is ~45" or lower to ~112" top, but with high gears spaced appropriately for the delimited torq.