Genesis Croix De Fer

Jonah

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 23, 2010
EX38
I'm considering treating myself to a road / tour / gravel bike maybe the Croix De Fer 10. Mostly for cycling on poor quality roads and tracks, sometimes for longish rides (50-100 miles). I'm also considering fitting a kit to the above bike. Rear wheel preferably. I would like to be able to swap out the motor wheel and ride with the original wheel at times. To this end I would like as many of the kit bits to live in a removable crossbar bag. I'm happy to just have a throttle so even the led display is not needed on the bars. Everything could then be easily removed when not needed. The motor wheel would be fitted with the same cassette and disc rotor. Would this work? I have fitted another kit previously but I'm no expert so would like something fool proof . Given these requirements, what would you recommend?

D

Deleted member 4366

If you're going to swap out the motor wheel, you'd need a front motor unless you want to adjust the gears each time you change the wheel because the spacing will be slightly different.

If you put the controller and battery in a frame bag and use velcro straps for the motor cable, you'd only need to disconnect the PAS and LCD cables when you swap, which is no big deal. I'd use a 260 rpm Q100H or a 201 rpm Q100H at 48v. That will give an assisted speed of about 22 mph. At 48v, you get 30% more torque. If you're sure, you want to restrict to 15.5 mph, then use a 201 rpm motor at 36v.

For a controller, at 36v, it's the S06S from BMSB, and at 48v, it's one of these, which is the same but 48v:
https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Free-Shipping-36V-250W-48V-350W-Controller-LCD-LCD6-display-PAS-Set-for-E-bike-kit/738588_32834523159.html?spm=2114.12010612.0.0.7e293d38ddcB77

The new tiny Xiongda motor is much lighter, and it still gives pretty good power and is very cheap, but the control system in their controller is not as nice as say a KT one.

Jonah

Esteemed Pedelecer