Greetings

Myfanwy

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 22, 2013
Hi, Myfanwy here from Kerry, Ireland, this is my first time using a forum. I have a Schwinn Tailwind that I bought 18 months ago, I wonder if any:confused:body can help me with a problem. The bike fell over last week and since then the on/off switch doesn't work and I am powerless! It's a heavy bike to cycle without assistance, and the nearest ebike repair shop is 200 miles away. Any suggestions? Best wishes to all.

GORDONAL

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 11, 2009
sunny Powys(Wales),Spain
Hi Myfanwy

There will be experts along soon to fully answer you ,is your on/off switch on the handlebars or the battery?

Welcome to the forum

Alan

shemozzle999

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 28, 2009
Hi, Myfanwy here from Kerry, Ireland, this is my first time using a forum. I have a Schwinn Tailwind that I bought 18 months ago, I wonder if any:confused:body can help me with a problem. The bike fell over last week and since then the on/off switch doesn't work and I am powerless! It's a heavy bike to cycle without assistance, and the nearest ebike repair shop is 200 miles away. Any suggestions? Best wishes to all.
Hi Myfanwy,

Welcome to the forum.

Check your brake levers to see if they have been bent. Make sure they return all the way into the housing otherwise the electric brake switch may be still operating and killing the power from the controller .

Myfanwy

Feb 22, 2013
Hi Myfanwy

There will be experts along soon to fully answer you ,is your on/off switch on the handlebars or the battery?

Welcome to the forum

Alan
Hi Alan, the switch is on the handlebar, it has one button for on/off and another to set the assistance level. When the bike fell over, the brake lever outside it got slightly bent, so I think that's where the impact has caused trouble. Thanks for your welcome, Myfanwy

Myfanwy

Feb 22, 2013