Help- How do I add a throttle with my set up?

Footpath

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 26, 2018
Australia
Hi Everyone,
I recently bought a new trike but want to mod it up (and make it go faster) but I’m a newbie and have limited knowledge... but I’m learning fast.
So I have. KT48ZWSR controller and a Bafang front hub motor 250w with a 48v battery. I’m about to update the display from a lame 880 to a KT LCD8. Thanks to help on this forum I now know the parameters I need to apply.

My handlebars have a green 3 pin waterproof plug to the Display which I guess is just as easy as unplug old, plug in new and program...is that right? The only other plug is a red two pin plug. Photos are coming but not yet approved on this forum. The control box which I have opened has a mess of wires of all different colours with clip type plugs on their ends. The wires are threaded through a small hole in the top of the bike frame near handlebars and come out at bottom near control box. If it helps, I will post pics as soon as they appear- probably in 12 -24 hours time as its almost 8 pm in Australia right now. I want to put a half twist throttle on the left handlebar but not sure how to wire it up etc. I don’t know what I’m doing, please help. If worst case I can’t add the throttle i’ll just forget about it and go with the pedal assist thing. Should I upgrade to a better KT controller for better performance?

Thanks in advance, kym p.s further pics coming.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
Hello footpath,

you need to show us the throttle connector on your controller. It usually has 3 wires, yellow blue and red.
It is unlikely that you can connect the throttle to a modular cabling system, you will need to buy the correct part to connect directly to your controller.
Something like this:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/p/Universal-Thumb-Throttle-Speed-Control-E-bike-Electric-Bike-Scooter-Wires-Handle/14005901040