Help Required???

thegavo

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 26, 2010
Hi everyone im new to ebike scene and to this forum so hello and i hope you can help, i live in uk (newcastle upon tyne) and bought a 1000w 48v hub motor with a 20ah 48v lifepo4 battery from conhis motor, all was well untill 2 weeks ago my battery broke from its mount (strap snapped) while riding, it moved backwards over the metal plate it was secured into and the edge cut thru the outside wires on both the white ribbons that exit the battery, resulting in total power loss, i opened battery bag to see a small amount of smoke from bms so i disconnected everything and rode home gutted!!

I repaired the two cut wires by soldering them back together, taped it back up reassembled and put battery on charge, it charged up ok so i connected it to controller and went for a ride , worked great, have done a few ten mile rides since no problems at all, untill a few days ago !!! i had ridden to work (2 miles) but then drove home and left bike as was really bad weather, nothing unusual here as this has happenned a few times, next day i went to ride back home and after about 4 seconds of use it cut out, all lights off and no power at all, i unplugged battery and reinserted, lights came back on but same thing happenned as soon as i tried to pull off it chucked it again, i put it on charge thinking it may need charging but as it had only done 2 miles the day before and can achieve around 30 miles on a charge, i had a feeling something was wrong..
it charged up within 5 minutes, normally takes 3hrs from empty, i tried it up the street and back and it was fine, it rode about half a mile full throttle all ok, i left it an hour then went for a ride and it cut out as soon as i turned the twist grip, all lights back out, i put on charge, 5 mins fully charged and rode up street again no problem, but left it one hr and its got no power again!!