Help! new Swytch kit on folding bike....wrong dimensions for wheel axle?

warpdrive

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 12, 2024
Hi, I'm new to conversion kits. Hence, I decided to go with the Swytch kit as it was recommended as the easiest install.

I received my kit Dec 2023, and am finally getting around to install it now. I ordered the kit for a 20" (406) wheel thinking it would fit my new Momentum Pakaway 1. Well, after I received it, I realized that it won't work because my front fork spacing is 100 mm. The wheel they supplied was meant for narrow forks of 75mm

So onto plan B.

I have a old Dahon Mu P8 from 1997 or so. Great, it has narrow fork spacing so I can make it work. I test fitted the wheel. It doesn't seem right.

My Dahon has dropout spacing of 10mm, but looking at the axle of the wheel and the torque washer they sent me.

The axle of the motor is 10mm with 8mm flat which leaves a gap on either side of the flat part (see picture)
The torque washer is clearly too big (see picture)

Is it normal for Swytch to send a wheel like this for folding bikes?

This does not seem safe? My Dahon has aluminum forks

I am in Canada so dealing with shipping things back to UK will be very expensive and not cost effective. I find their email responses slow, and I thought I would try this forum for help to see if I can salvage my purchase

IMG_0816.jpg
fork dropout is 10mm wide

IMG_0822.jpg
can see how the flat part has a gap, because it's 8mm

IMG_0820.jpg
torque washer looks way too big

thanks!

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford
Normally, those motor have 10mm round axles. The flats are on the inner part that fits into the drop-outs, where there's an anti-rotation tab. I think Swytch must have had the 8mm flats specially added to the axle to suit their own outer anti-rotation devices or torque arms, and they've provided you with the wrong ones.