raleigh electric bike

jac

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 1, 2007
hi all i am completely new to this so not sure if this will work but have enjoyed reading all the stuff on the site i just thought you might be interested in this bike on sale on german ebay raleigh bike with panasonic drive plus lithithium 10 amph battery the no is 120146964944 it looks like an nice city bike looks like giant could lose a lot of sales to this machine

regards jim

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Welcome to the forum Jim, and thanks for this information. We have the similar Gazelle Easy Rider available here now with that same motor unit, but it's nearly £200 dearer than that at £1400. The problem is that the Raleigh is cash on collection, so only for someone who can combine that with a holiday or business trip.

jac

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 1, 2007
hi i just thought as this bike is now selling in germany now we might expect to see it in the uk in the future but would like to ask the question why is it on extra energy org web site that all the panasonic drive units give various amounts of asistance on hills the gaselle being one of the lowest and helkama one of highest
regards jim

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
I don't know about the Helkama Jim, but I've already remarked on the weight of the Gazelle

It weighs 28.6 kilos including a 2.1 kilo battery, while the original Panasonic motored Twist weighed 22 kilos including a 3.7 kilo battery, the later versions a little more.

Taking into account it's battery is 1.6 kilos lighter, the Gazelle bike alone manages to be an extraordinary 8.2 kilos / 18 lbs heavier than the Twist. There are a few complete bicycles that total this weight difference. Perhaps Wildebeest would have been a better choice of name!