Should we bail on the new Swytch conversion kit

jdunphy

Finding my (electric) wheels
Apr 12, 2022
Victoria, BC
Hello everyone,

I am really enjoying reading and learning about e-bikes from these forums. I certainly feel that I could buy any kit and do it myself now including building a battery pack thanks to some really great posted video's from here on how to safely do this. I already maintain my own bikes so have most of the specific bike tools and do fix electronics at the component level so not afraid of a multi meter and a soldering iron. I am a retired systems programmer by trade.

My wife received her swytch kit a few weeks ago after 7 months waiting for it. It worked perfectly for 1 and 1/2 rides (approx 18 miles). She has been working with Swytch over the past 10 days to find resolution and I am not sure I buy their conclusion as I see multiple unexplained failure modes. They will ship a new handle bar battery pack assembly (see picture) but don't have it in stock and then it will be 2-4 weeks after that. We are in Victoria, BC Canada so double that time it always feels like. ;--) The problem I have is that her bike was on its kickstand for about 30-45 seconds with her off of the bike and behind it. The front wheel motor suddenly lurched forward throws the bike on the ground with enough force (wrestling pile driver comes to mind) to skew her handbars sideways. We were discussing the motor cutting in/out so I witnessed this first hand. Prior to that we saw this behavior when moving the crank by hand with no result only to see it happen 10-15 seconds later or during coasting at times when she is on it. Normally there is a small delay about 1-2 seconds which is normal for this controller which she likes.