Smitten... but with a dilemma

b789

Just Joined
May 23, 2018
Hi Everyone. New on here but I've been a peddle convert for the last 4 months. I bought my first e-bike back in June using a bike-to-work (BTW) scheme and a small top-up. I have been riding a mountain bike for the last 10 years or so but only in good weather and now, as I'm ageing rather ungraciously, I found I was riding less and less due to the inevitable 12% gradient in any direction out of my village putting me off.

At 62, I was finding it rather daunting getting up the hill for any ride of decent length. The easiest route was up the hill for about ½ mile and then a reasonably flat ride with the joy/relief of the downward bit at the end. The strain though, was putting me off and the thoughts of an e-bike started.

The first bike I tested was the Carrera from Halfords and I fell in love with e-bikes at that point. I wanted that one but Halfords didn't take the BTW vouchers from my company and their sister company that did were in Norwich (I live near Ipswich) but wouldn't accept a top up so they were off my list.

The next bike I wanted was a Woosh Big Bear. Unfortunately, they didn't take BTW vouchers and as no one else sold them, they were a no-goer too. Wasn't looking too good for me getting the bike I wanted.

I eventually chose a Kudos Mistral which looked really nice. It had the 250w Bafang rear hub drive and a set of Shimano 27 gears. The Samsung 10.5wh battery fitted nicely into the frame and the cable disc brakes were effective. It had 26" wheels fitted with Chunky Kenda tyres.

I soon racked up almost 500 miles riding almost every day. I loved it. The bike was great and I fitted a few extras such rear mudguard, seat post pouch, water bottle and some small wing mirrors. Most of my riding is on the road with some bridleway gravelly type rides and grassy/hard packed trails.