speed sensor and throttle issue - Bafang 001

Martin Rogers

Finding my (electric) wheels
Apr 7, 2018
Clacton on sea Essex UK
Hi, I have just completed installation of the Bafang BBS 001 with DPC 14 display, on to my 15 + year old Carera Fury MTB.
All works very well except the display will not indicate speed or distance ( the red led doesn't flash on the sensor - magnet set to 2mm from surface ). Also the throttle control does nothing.
Brake and gear shift detection work fine.
Any set up I might be missing or ideas whats occouring?

JuicyBike

Trade Member
Jan 26, 2009
Derbyshire
Perhaps you need to swap over the pedal sensor connection with the throttle connection at the controller, but I'm no expert and the connectors may not be the same.

wheeliepete

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 28, 2016
Devon
Check you have the magnet lined up with the cross on the sensor and recheck all of your connectors for bent or damaged pins.. There have been reports on some newer BBS drives that the throttle won't work when you are pedalling, so check it with the bike stationary and the rear wheel lifted off the ground. You may have a DOA throttle, it has been known, but is not that common.

Martin Rogers

Apr 7, 2018
Clacton on sea Essex UK
Check you have the magnet lined up with the cross on the sensor and recheck all of your connectors for bent or damaged pins.. There have been reports on some newer BBS drives that the throttle won't work when you are pedalling, so check it with the bike stationary and the rear wheel lifted off the ground. You may have a DOA throttle, it has been known, but is not that common.
All pins good and in correct plug socket pairing. Magnet in line with target on sensor.
Throttle does not work with wheel lifted and no pedal action. Walk facility works ok by pressing minus button

wheeliepete

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 28, 2016
Devon

Martin Rogers

Apr 7, 2018
Clacton on sea Essex UK