which kit for 22mile ride?

erian

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 15, 2017
Denmark
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to the ebike community and pretty confused already to be honest.

So here's the thing, I want to start cycling to work again, i used to do it when i was living closer but not anymore. I have to cover a distance of 22miles to go there through flat flat Danish countryside and i am looking for something that will help me maintain a speed of 16mph for 1,5 hours, but also push me a little on my bad days. Any ideas on what is the most user friendly, low maintenance, easy to setup 250w kit? any batteries some good robust ones?

Mid drive, front or rear hub? ofc on the main aspects is that the kit MUST be pretty water/winterproof.

Thanks in advance

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
For a flat commute on road rear hub motor, not many 250w kits about however Woosh bikes sell a 48v 250w rear kit if you don't mind a freewheel for gears.

Other wise a lot of kits are 350w.
These from Elifeshop on Ebay are very good value all have the nice KT controller kits and sensored hubs, approx. 270/280rpm with top speed of 32km/h.
I have just bought a kit to try out for £175 inc delivery, an xmas present for myself.
Lots of talk on pedelecs.de about them and they are raving about them, plenty seem to be using them and peeling off the 350w label. The hubs are Yose power built I assume and look like a Bafang clone as most are, they have a typical Bafang screw on side plate. Over on Pedelec .de they say 10% hills are ok with these kits.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/elifeshop-2012/m.html?item=302470853977&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2562

For a battery be careful as there are some rubbish cells be used by vendors even Elife shop.
Minimum cell to use would be Samsung 29E's otherwise look for Samsung 30Q celled batteries or LG MJ1 but none will be cheap. Look at offerings from Eclipse bikes or get all complete from Woosh Bikes.