Can anyone help me adding a throttle to a carrera crossfire e bike please

Major009

Just Joined
Oct 27, 2023
Hello you wonderful people I have recently brought a carrera crossfire e bike from halfords and was wondering if anyone has any information how to add a throttle to the bike would it be as simple as replacing the controller and display. Please help I'm a novice here many thanks

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Any extra work in the two year warranty will void said warranty.
Surely would be better to buy a used cheaper bike.

Your battery has two year warranty and the bike one year , if the battery, TS goes wrong or the hub has a fault you will be stuffed by changing or modding the bike.

Last edited:

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford
Hello you wonderful people I have recently brought a carrera crossfire e bike from halfords and was wondering if anyone has any information how to add a throttle to the bike would it be as simple as replacing the controller and display. Please help I'm a novice here many thanks
There are different versions of your bike, which need different solutions, and they're changing all the time. I agree with Neal. The easiest solution is to sell it and buy or make a bike like you want it.

If you know anything about electronics, the controller responds to two signals. A high frequency pulsing signal indicates that the pedals are turning and a 0v to 5v signal tells it how hard you're pedalling. All you need to do is put a pulse on the pulse wire, then you can use a potentiometer as a throttle. You can buy those very cheaply on Ebay.

Saracen

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 24, 2023
UK ILLEGAL 100% unless on PRIVATE land (you own or similar) off roading does NOT count if others use it, you can get 6 points on your car licence and god help you if you are ever in an accident, someone's hort, you cause damage and it is seen you have one, if you doubt it ask the Police, call them don't take my word for it.