Cyclone 500W, what battery in UK?

MrT

Finding my (electric) wheels
Aug 6, 2018
Hi all,

I'm new to this eBike stuff by simple virtue that I bought a tricycle for the wife second hand which, to my surprise appears to have a Cyclone 24V 500W motor installed, but no battery.

I've drawn the conclusion that it's a Cyclone motor having identified the ORO Grip accelerator appears to be just for Cyclone motors.

Now I have no idea about this stuff but am quite excited about it having read various posts on this forum, but I need your help.

So the steps that I envisage I need to take are as follows...

1) confirm that this is indeed a Cyclone motor and kit
2) source a suitable power supply. Now initially this needs to be relatively cheep as I have no idea if any of this works. It does however look in pretty good condition. I'm in the UK so not sure what I'm looking for, where best to source it and at the best price. I've gleaned thus far that there are a multitude of battery and charging options.
3) test the motor now that I have power
4) diagnose any issues and resolve
5) get out and make the most of having inadvertently bought a ready made eBike Tricycle :)

Really appreciate any help or advice anyone can offer.

Thanks in advance,

Rich

Attachments

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
The battery will depend on the controller amp rating, internal controller. The unknown is knowing the controller rating an email to Eclipse may shed more light on that.

http://eclipsebikes.com/index.php?cPath=

External controllers are often 50 -120a , internal likely to be 25 - 40a hence the need for a good high discharge battery.

Eclipse recommend one of their lifpo4 batteries, this is maybe because they typically have higher amp discharge rating then Li-on and they recommend the 15ah one.
Putting a cheap li-on oi it may well not be to impressive
unless it has a high discharge and that means pucker cells and not your cheapo or average rated cells.

Last edited: