Help with my first conversion kit.

TrebzUK

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jul 31, 2019
Hi All

I'm wanting to buy a conversion kit to fit to an old steel bike I have. I have a 4 mile commute to work with no hills. I'm in the UK and hold a full car and motorcycle licence. Is the kit in the link below worth buying? I'm new to electric conversion but not new to cycling, I'm an area co ordinator for a worldwide cycling community but our forum does not have an electric section.

This is the kit I have found to be, I think, best suited for me:

https://kirbebike.com/products/250w-ebike-conversion-kit?variant=43365620678809

I also have a few questions:

1. As I'm used to riding a Yamaha R1 and KTM 690 Duke can I go for a larger 750w motor or similar and be legal in the UK?
2. If I buy the kit above should I buy it without a battery and buy a 48v battery seperately? If so where can I buy such a battery in the UK?

Thanks in advance :)

Trebz

matthewslack

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 26, 2021
For a four mile flat commute you really don't need to be looking beyond standard 250W hub motor kits.

750W is a moped, not legal under pedelec / EPAC / EN15194 rules. Pedelecs are bicycles in law, your motorbike licence makes no difference.

Throttle (kit linked has throttle and a warning about off road use only) you need to read up on. The rules for user fitted vs manufacturer fitted have some differences.

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
As matthewslack says, the 750w would not be not legal as a pedelec. Just to clarify:
It could be legal as an s-pedelec/moped. You'd need to get it approved to ride on the road, then arrange insurance, registration, license plate etc. And you couldn't legally ride it off road in any publicly accessible space such as bridleways, cycle path, canal paths, etc.

I assume if you went 750w it wouldn't be a front wheel conversion?

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales