850c or 860c for TSDZ2?

Doge

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 5, 2021
I'm a total novice at this and have no knowledge of electronics, but I've recently converted my bike with a TSDZ2. I thought I'd have a go at a new controller/display and flash it to see the results. First I can only fined the 850c controller ready to use with the TSDZ2. Is there any advantage in getting the 860c and converting the plugs if I'm moderately incompetent? Also are these better controllers than the VLCD5 I've already got?( especially if the voltage indictor is accurate ( does the VLCD5 have a voltage indictor?)).
I'm pretty confused to whether flashing the controller is the same as flashing the display, whether I have to do this once or twice!

TJS109

Pedelecer
Sep 29, 2017
Glos
Flashing the controller is a separate operation from flashing the display.

Just so you are aware of all the options there is a branch of the software that allows you to use the existing stock VCLD5(6) unmodified meaning that you only have to flash the controller.
I think performance is the same but the display options are limited.

Full details and options are here https://github.com/emmebrusa

The vcld5 option being https://github.com/emmebrusa/TSDZ2-Smart-EBike-1

Last edited:

MontyPAS

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 16, 2020
I'm a total novice at this and have no knowledge of electronics, but I've recently converted my bike with a TSDZ2. I thought I'd have a go at a new controller/display and flash it to see the results. First I can only fined the 850c controller ready to use with the TSDZ2. Is there any advantage in getting the 860c and converting the plugs if I'm moderately incompetent? Also are these better controllers than the VLCD5 I've already got?( especially if the voltage indictor is accurate ( does the VLCD5 have a voltage indictor?)).
I'm pretty confused to whether flashing the controller is the same as flashing the display, whether I have to do this once or twice!