Brand New BBS02B...PAS not working

RobAV

Finding my (electric) wheels
Aug 8, 2021
Hi, I've just spent the weekend building up a Scott mtb with a BBS02b...but when it came to the first test ride...the PAS does not work..but the throttle does. I don't ride using the throttle..I only installed the throttle to check there was power whilst on the work stand!
I've double checked all the connections, triple if not quadruple checked the wheel sensor for its gap right down to 1mm..the sensor lights up as the magnet passes (as it should) but still no PAS. All the parameters in the display are fine, no error codes. I've disconnected the throttle and brakes...and still no PAS.
All the wiring is perfect etc (I built my road BBS01b a few months ago, which is great) so its not like its my first build. This is a brand new BBS02b with zero miles which I only received on Friday (October 1st). Any ideas or do I disassemble the BBS kit and send the lot back and ask for a refund (which would be a huge shame)?

Help and advice appreciated!

wheeliepete

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 28, 2016
Devon
Do you have a programming cable? If so, you could check the settings. Sellers often change them and they could have done something wrong, although there is no way to disable the PAS in there. You could also remove the 3 controller allen key bolts and check the PAS sensor plug is properly connected, it's the black 4 wire one. Otherwise it's likely to be a duff sensor or broken magnetic disc in which case it's best to contact the seller.

RobAV

Aug 8, 2021
Do you have a programming cable? If so, you could check the settings. Sellers often change them and they could have done something wrong, although there is no way to disable the PAS in there. You could also remove the 3 controller allen key bolts and check the PAS sensor plug is properly connected, it's the black 4 wire one. Otherwise it's likely to be a duff sensor or broken magnetic disc in which case it's best to contact the seller.