How to find a trustworthy bike shop if…

Sylvs

Pedelecer
Apr 27, 2023
One is a complete novice when it comes to e-bikes?
I am looking at buying an electric folder on cyclescheme. I have not been obsessively researching “inexpensive” bikes. I scoured this forum, googled/binged/yahooed the internet and am more confused then ever. So and internet retailer is out .
I have now started emailing every local shop I can find to get advice but a lot of them have told me that I will not find a decent bike under 1.5k and are telling me I need to look at 2.5k+. My understanding of pedelecs is fairly basic so I guess I’d like to know what are the red flags to look out for when dealing with bike dealers so I don’t get sold something that’s overpriced and under delivers;)
I’ve the past month I have scoured this forum and feel like this is the place to come for such advice.

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
You haven't said what you want the bike for. Look at Woosh (https://wooshbikes.co.uk/).
You might count them as an 'internet' retailer, but they will give better advice and service than almost all local bike shops. You won't get the best bike ever, but you will get a decent quality one at a reasonable price.

Sylvs

Pedelecer
Apr 27, 2023
A few days ago I woke up with a resolution of getting a rambletta but they don’t do cycle scheme. That’s what broke my heart and forced me to look at every bike shop in Scotland within a 50mike radius of Glasgow.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
The ebike retailers talk nonsense about spending 2.5k on a folder , reason being is their profit margins are greater on dearer bikes and most know little about hub bikes let alone the mid drive ones they sell.
If you need is just for pottering around town /shopping then a sensible sub 1k hub motor bike will be more then adequate. You can opt for the dearer mid drive type bikes but they won't be more reliable .