Is 250/500W + 36V 16ah battery enough?

Dalberts

Just Joined
May 1, 2022
Hi all, I'm looking to purchase a mid drive conversion kit to get me back into MTB after a few years out, particularly back into trail riding. I have a great condition Cube Attention 2016 for my donor bike.

I see the Befang BBS02 750W kits are raved about but I can't find anywhere that sells them on a cycle to work scheme which I would like to take advantage of (42% discount!). So I have found this 250W/500W dual motor kit from Cyclotricity: https://pedalandchain.co.uk/collections/cyclotricity/products/cyclotricity-250-500w-mid-drive-e-bike-conversion

My question is whether the 250W motor will be powerful enough to get me up hills at trail centres, or if I am going to burn it out trying. I should mention the battery is 36V 16ah, however I'm a complete novice so I don't really understand if that affects the motor performance or not.

Alternatively there is a 250W/1000W rear drive kit from the same manufacturer: https://pedalandchain.co.uk/products/cyclotricity-250-1000w-rear-drive-e-bike-conversion?_pos=10&_sid=6c88b7384&_ss=r. Although I am planning on taking my 20 month old out riding in a rear seat, so I'd be concerned there would be too much weight at the back of the bike, plus I think the mid drive is a better MTB trail solution. Don't worry, she won't be riding on the trails - I've seen people do it with kids and it looks horrendous for all involved!

Thanks in advance!

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
hub motors are a no go for trail centers down red and black trails will just destroy the rims and spokes in no time.

my 250w bosch motor gets me up pretty much everything but have a 12spd cassette.

matthewslack

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 26, 2021
Hi all, I'm looking to purchase a mid drive conversion kit to get me back into MTB after a few years out, particularly back into trail riding. I have a great condition Cube Attention 2016 for my donor bike.