Keeping batteries healthy during the cold winter

newbie2011

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 8, 2011
Hello All, I'm after some advice regarding my battery. I have to say despite loving my bike I'm not very good at using it during the winter. It is stored outside in the summerhouse where it's dry but quite cold. I'm wondering how I should ensure the battery is kept healthy during the winter and would be grateful for any advice.
I've kept it fully charged. Is there anything else I need to consider.
Many thanks

NRG

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 6, 2009
Dont let it freeze! Bring it indoors and put it in an unheated under-stairs cupboard or similar...the best charge state for long term storage is approx 40% of full charge, but a few months after a full charge should be OK.

Kudoscycles

Official Trade Member
Apr 15, 2011
www.kudoscycles.com
The Lithium Manganese,Ion or Polymer are more fussy than the Lithium Phosphate. We have some bikes at work that were delivered prior to our selection of LifePo4 and they need recharging more often and kept at about 20deg C....the LifePo4 has a very low self discharge rate and can accomodate considerable temperature range(it was originally developed for weather stations)-all Lithium batteries do not like to be stored fully charged or flat,ideally keep between 80-20%.
Dave
KudosCycles

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
The key thing is not to leave it for three months or more without a charge, preferably charge every two months if completely out of use.

The lithium batteries of all types that we use have internal circuitry management (BMS), which on most is on all the time using a tiny amount of current. If left for a long time without recharging, the battery's cells can be discharged to unrecoverable levels eventually.

newbie2011

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 8, 2011
Thank you

Thank you all for your advice. The batteries are lithium polymer with compound cathodes.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006