Smart Pie 4 and NMC 24V 20Ah Battery

haase

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 5, 2015
North London
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the ebike scene and would like to know if anyone has experience of the Smart Pie 4 or even the Magic Pie 4. They are cheapish Chinese ebike conversion kits. I understand they have sine wave controllers, regenerative braking and the quitest direct drive brushless hub motor. The Smart Pie 4 is 240-400W, whereas the Magic Pie 4 is 750-1000W. I am going for the Smart Pie 4 to be within regulation limits.

Secondly I have ordered a battery from China using NMC chemistry and rated at 24V 20Ah with a high current BMS, continuous discharge rate as high as 10C and burst discharge rate 15C.

What will the high discharge rate give me over and above a lower rated 24V battery?

I understand NMC is the chemistry chosen by Tesla, Nissan and Zero bikes to name a few.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited:

cwah

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 3, 2011
www.whatonlondon.co.uk
No tesla purposely avoided NMC because of the poor calendar life.

They choosen NCA instead, which are the ncr18650 range cells

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
@haase: can you explain the reason or reasons why you chose the Golden Motor's Smart Pie 4 and a 24V battery?

haase

Feb 5, 2015
North London
From what I have seen in various reports, almost all ev cars are having NMC battery packs. Since NMC has high energy density and low weight it makes sense and seems the safety is acceptable too. Time will show which battery chemistry will rule. As far as I see it, NMC is the one presently.

I believe Tesla will start their own battery manufactuing in Nevada with NMC or whatever is their choice.

In short for outright performance, NMC and for longer life LiFePO4. For me these are the two that matters at the moment.

Last edited:

haase

Feb 5, 2015
North London
@haase: can you explain the reason or reasons why you chose the Golden Motor's Smart Pie 4 and a 24V battery?