Brakes question (Disc compared to V)

morphix

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 24, 2010
Worcestershire
www.cyclecharge.org.uk
I've seen that some e-bikes use disc brakes and others use v brakes and wondered whether a bike with disc breaks is generally a better option for e-bikes? Sorry if my question is a bit vague..I'm a complete newbie to e-bikes.

Disc brakes do look more complicated and involved from a maintenance prospective. How easy is it to carry out maintenance on them compared to v brakes? And is getting replacements likely to be expensive?

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Many cable operated disc brakes are not very effective, though there us the odd exception like some models from Avid. Generally it's the more complex and expensive hydraulic ones that are better.

V brakes are cheap and very effective, but they do have the disadvantage of wearing out rims that have to expensively replaced by wheel rebuilding at intervals as they get dangerously thin.

If regular high mileages as in longish commutes are envisaged, discs can be the better option for keeping long term costs down.

These two types are not the only ones, there are also hub roller brakes for wheels without motors which are moderately common, not very powerful but needing almost no maintenance ever.

Another type which has all but disappeared thank goodness is the band brake, basically a steel strap which when pulled binds itself on a steel drum dragging the bike to a usually loud squealing halt.

Two remaining types are the caliper brake that is often seen on drop handlebar and professional sports and race bikes, and the now more rarely seen cantilever brake.

Last edited:

brucehawsker

Pedelecer
Dec 17, 2009
Stupid question - why do you have to rebuild the wheel to replace the V pads??

NRG

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 6, 2009
The rims wear out with V-brakes and at some point the wheel will need rebuilding/replacing.

JuicyBike

Trade Member
Jan 26, 2009
Derbyshire